Parenthood: Semana Dos

IMG_3435Dear Foster Daughter #2,

What a week right?
You were dropped into our lives as surprise to both you and to us.
You get a couple of parents that just started trying to figure out parenthood a few days before you arrived. Not only do you get a couple of brand-new parents, but you also get a confused, wild, and excited foster sister that will want to hold your hand, and read books, and be louder than any of us really appreciate in the early hours of the morning.

We don’t even share a common language. And yet, I wouldn’t wish you to be anywhere but in our home as a part of our unique, seemingly ever growing family. I don’t even know how to ask if you’re actually doing okay or find out what you really need, and yet we’re what we’ve got. There is something so beautiful and complex about what we’ve got going on as a family. I don’t think I’d trade it for anything. We’re only just beginning to know each other’s stories, and I think our four stories combined are going to make a pretty good story all together in the months to come.

Another thing, your foster mom is really cool. I know that you know she’s rad because she can speak in Spanish with you. But she’s even better than you realize today. She’s full of wisdom and hope even when she has every reason to be tired and cynical. She smiles and extends patience when I’m done and ready to carry your screaming 4 year old foster sister out to the parking lot to have a “tough love” conversation that won’t make any sense because I’m just making things up.

At night when I’m trying to fall asleep, I literally just laugh to myself for a solid 10 minutes because, what the heck are we even doing, right? Like, the traumas we’ve all been through and the experiences we’ve all had, and the unknowningness of it all…it sounds like a recipe for a complete disaster. But we’re braving the storm and we’re gonna figure this all out together. You’re gonna teach me some more of your languages, I’ll teach you some of mine. I’m gonna try to learn how to be as brave and resilient as you and am hoping you’re gonna help me learn how to make delicious guatemalan food. In return, I hope that you will get some glimpses of real, messy love and learn to love doughnuts as much as I do. We’ve all got something to give, right?

I know that I tell your foster sister that I love her already, and I do. I’m trying not to overwhelm you with too much emotion in your first few days with us…but you should know we love you too. We are honored that we would be chosen to be your fill-in family for this unknown period of time. We can’t wait to see what comes next in the story that’s being told with our lives.

You are a part of our family today and for as long as you want.

 

Leave a Reply

